## EDUCATIONAL SERVICES COMMISSION OF MORRIS COUNTY P.O. Box 1944, Morristown, NJ 07962-1944 (973) 540-8844

# MINUTES -REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY MEETING JUNE 4, 2014

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The Representative Assembly of the Educational Services Commission of Morris County was called to order by the Business Administrator/Board Secretary, Catarina Bilotta at 7:35 pm on June 4, 2014 at the Commission Office, 520 Speedwell Avenue, Suite 200, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Morris Plains.

#### **FLAG SALUTE**

The Board Secretary led the Board of Directors and others attending in the salute to our flag:

### **ROLL CALL**

The Board Secretary called the roll:

**Morris County Districts:** 

**Present:** 

Irene LeFebvre, Boonton Town
Barry Brantner, Boonton Township
Denise McCarthy, Lincoln Park
John Morella, Montville Township, arrived at 7:42 pm
Michael Portrop Morris Hills Perional

Michael Bertram, Morris Hills Regional

Alan Albin, Morris Plains

Tom Salerno, Pequannock Township

Alan Bocchino, Dover Town

Karen Nyquist, Long Hill Township Perry Kwok, Washington Township Angelo Vilardi, Superintendent of Schools

## **Not Present:**

Butler Borough, Tracy Luciani
District of the Chathams, Richard Connors
Chester Township, Mike Tomasco
Denville Township, Dave Napeloni
East Hanover Township, Stephanie Mitchell
Florham Park, Kevin DeCoursey
Hanover Park Regional, James Herbert
Hanover Township, Stephen Furda
Harding Township, Dev Modi
Jefferson Township,
Kinnelon Borough, Mike Petruccelli
Madison Borough, Dave Arthur
Mendham Borough, Paul Fechhelm
Mendham Township, Andrew Christmann

Out of County Districts: Andover Regional, Ed Conrads Bloomingdale, Byram Township, Mary Ann Risley Great Meadows, Edward O'Melia Green Township, Jennifer Cinotti

Mine Hill Township, Jill Del Rio

Morris County Votech, John Hyland Morris School District, Terri Murphy Mt. Arlington Borough, Albert Roldan Mt. Lakes Borough, Mark Laurenzi Mt. Olive Township, Anthony Giordano Netcong Borough, William Stevens Parsippany-Troy Hills,

Randolph Township, Amy Sachs Riverdale Borough, Andrew Oliveri Rockaway Borough, Eileen Haynes Rockaway Township, Rosemary Chabala

Roxbury Township,

West Morris Regional, Marcia Asdal Wharton Borough, Paul Breda

Hunterdon Central, Paul Ransavage Sparta Township, Stanhope, Gil Moscatello

### Also Present:

Catarina Bilotta, Business Administrator

# ANNOUNCEMENT THAT NOTICE REQUIREMENTS OF THE OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS LAW HAVE BEEN SATISIFIED

I submit that a legal notice of this meeting of the Representative Assembly and the Board of Directors was published on June 23, 2013 in the Daily Record. Notices were also sent on June 18, 2013 to the offices of the Morris County Clerk and the Morris County Superintendent of Schools. In addition, notices were posted at the Park Lake School, Rockaway and Regional Day School, Morristown

### **PUBLIC**

- Superintendent turned the floor to the public
- Several parents from Regional Day School read letters to the Representative Assembly in reference to the staff reduction. Letters were received from Kristen Garcia, Tammy Dempsey & Carol Coggins.
- Superintendent thanked the public

### SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT - BOARD MEMBER ORIENTATION

• Superintendent presented a Board Member Orientation

### ELECTION OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY, in accordance with NJSA 18A:6:51 et. seq. and By Law 040, to elect the following fifteen (15) members to the Board of the Directors to serve until the next Organization Meeting. After the members present voted by acclamation, the Business Administrator/Board Secretary announced the results of the Election for the Board of Directors as follows:

#### Name:

Irene LeFebvre, Boonton Town
Barry Brantner, Boonton Township
Alan Bocchino, Dover Town
Dev Modi, Harding Township
Denise McCarthy, Lincoln Park Borough
Karen Nyquist, Long Hill Township
Paul Fechhelm, Mendham Borough
John Morella, Montville Township
Michael Bertram, Morris Hills Regional
Alan Albin, Morris Plains
Terri Murphy, Morris School District
Anthony Giordano, Mount Olive Township
Tom Salerno, Pequannock Township
Perry Kwok, Washington Township
Marcia Asdal, West Morris Regional

Moved by <u>Barry Brantner</u> and seconded by <u>Karen Nyquist</u> the motion to elect the above 15 members as the new Board of <u>Director's was carried</u> by a unanimous roll call.

### ADJOURNMENT OF REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY

Moved by <u>Perry Kwok</u> and seconded by <u>Michael Bertram</u> the meeting was adjourned at <u>8:40 pm</u> and was carried by a unanimous roll call.

Respectfully Submitted By,

Catarina Bilotta

**Business Administrator/Board Secretary** 

### **ATTACHMENTS**

EXHIBIT	PAGE NO.
Ballot Sheet	<b>A1</b>
District Participation	<b>A2</b>
Board of Director's Attendance	<b>A3</b>